Creepers are Everywhere!

17 Nov

Creeper Alert! That’s right. A creeper. Where? On PROpenMic!

A few weeks ago I wrote a post on how I really liked PROpenMic and the features they offer for students studying public relations. However, my view on the site has changed since I got one creepy e-mail.

It was just a normal day. I was innocently checking my school e-mail account when I noticed I got a message from someone I didn’t know from PROpenMic. Curious, I opened it and instantly, it got awkward. Some guy happened to check out my PROpenMic profile and now wants to establish a “long-lasting relationship” with me. In addition, he sent the address to his private e-mail account. Ehhh.

Of course I just ignored it, but it got me to thinking if PROpenMic is just as dangerous as Facebook or MySpace. I know that there will always be creepers out there on the Internet, but on PROpenMic? A network created for PR people? Not what I expected. I was hoping to be contacted by a PR professional interested in networking professionally through PROpenMic, not some random person wanting to find companionship.

4 Responses to “Creepers are Everywhere!”

  1. Robert November 18, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Hey Amanda,

    I’m sorry you received that message.

    Yes, even though we try very hard to keep PROpenMic clean from spammers, they do sometimes sneak in. Why do they choose to hit our network? Because we’re successful and active. That’s where spammers migrate.

    Right now, we’ve turned membership signup to moderation. We’re approving all new members. Even then, sometimes someone will sneak by.

    Sadly, those that make money spamming are willing to invest in developing new ways to beat the system.

    I’m sorry you got one of those spam messages. I’m sure it was creepy.

    Hope you’ll still give PROpenMic your effort and attention. I have seen people make connections with PR agencies and more to find internships and jobs. It can happen.

    Take care.

    Robert French
    Founder, PROpenMic

  2. melmomorris November 30, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    Super Scary!!! Creepers are everywhere. It’s so sad. Even now on professional websites. The internet is a great tool for normal people, but it sure has brought out a few crazies too! What is this world coming too? Do people really seriously think that by sending a message like that back to someone that they are really going to respond the way they want them too?! Wierdos!! I know Facebook has done a lot to update and strenghen their security but still, anything you put out on the internet is fair game to all….even creepers! Just always a good rule to remember, even for professional sites. You never know who could be looking, or creeping! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. RE: Creepers are Everywhere « My Ongoing Journey - November 18, 2010

    […] my last post “Creepers are Everywhere,” I got a pretty awesome response – Robert French, the founder of PROpenMic contacted […]

  2. Blog Comments PR Writing Fall 2010 « "Relating to the Public" - November 30, 2010

    […] https://afurmage24.wordpress.com/2010/11/17/maybe-i-was-wrong/#comment-52 […]

Leave a Reply

