“Massive” Publicity Stunt?

26 Oct

Barbie dolls, Hot Wheels cars, Little People. These were some of my favorite toys while growing up. However, nothing gave me more joy than my Legos. With my little building blocks I would create cars, houses, and castles. I even constructed a school complete with desks, a chalkboard, and a playground.

I lost a lot of Legos during my childhood. Some were sucked up by the vacuum cleaner. Others got lost somewhere in my huge toy box and were found months later. These incidents happened mostly because Legos are tiny pieces and can easily fit into little nooks and crannies.

Never would I see the day when someone would lose their 8-foot tall Lego piece. However, on October 25 in Siesta Key, Florida, an 8-foot tall Lego man, named Ego Leonard, washed up onto the shore in the early morning.

Was this a publicity scheme thought up by the public relations department at Lego? Doesn’t look like it. According to a BoingBoing blog post by Rob Beschizza, Ego Leonard has appeared on beaches on beach in Zandvoort, Holland and Brighton, England three years ago.

Ego Leonard even has a personal Web site discussing his background and experiences in his “virtual world,” a world that has “been flooded with fortune-hunters and people drunk with power.” Ego Leonard has escaped his homeland in hopes of discovering more about the “beautiful meadows, words, sounds, and gestures” of our world.

So what is this Lego man here to tell us? I’m not exactly sure, but I’m pretty curious to what this all means. And slightly creeped out. Check out this video about beached Ego Leonard or check out his Twitter feed. Yes, he Tweets. He’s legit.

3 Responses to ““Massive” Publicity Stunt?”

  1. sarahrosehassani November 18, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    This is hilarious! I would love to be walking on the beach and see that Lego man washed up on shore. I’m still not sure whether or not Lego is behind it. I don’t think there is enough evidence to prove that it is or isn’t. If I was a part of the Lego Company, I think this would be a pretty good way of publicizing the Lego brand. But I do agree with you that this is kind of creepy. The fact that he just randomly shows up at different beaches is weird! How on earth does he get there in the first place? I wonder if anyone has ever caught a person putting him there on the beach. I think I will try and search for it!

  2. chelseycomm4333 November 19, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    That is very, very odd… He’s washed up in other countries? That’s almost unbelievable. I wonder how much it weighed. Someone obviously sat it up after it washed ashore.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creepn On My Peers « Delicious Future - November 18, 2011

    […] #14. Nov 18, 2011 + Amanda Furmage’s post: “Massive publicity stunt?” […]

Leave a Reply

